Week 1 – Bring on the Chaos!

So, I did a very un-Belle like thing and kinda just dove into this first week without too much planning.  Bad idea.  This led to me cooking for SIX HOURS and having to run my dishwasher three times.  Not cool.  Learn from my mistakes people! Plan your meals out properly as well as your cooking plan.  I just started at the top of my list and cooked my way down instead of planning which dishes I could work on at the same time, which could go in the oven together etc.

As a result of this uncharacteristic lack of organization, this first week was not my finest.  The food tasted great but there was a lot of it since I was learning how much food I needed for two people for a full week of meals.  The process takes a little time but it will be worth it.  All of my meal plans are for two people but you can easily halve everything for one or double it for more. Just make sure that you count out the right number of boxes for however many people you are preparing for. Example: if you are making meals for 2 people you will need 20 boxes (10 lunches, 10 dinners).  This first week, that math was apparently too difficult for me and I made the wrong number of boxes.  Like I said, not my finest week!

Breakfast and Snacks

*Note* Make sure you put these in the fridge and then reheat if you prefer them warm or they will get moldy by the end of the week.  That is a good thing though! It means that your food isn’t full of nasty chemicals! Hurrah for real food!

granola barchia muffins

Lunch

  • Dirty Rice with Seitan
    • I sauteed the seitan with garlic and onion until browned then added in diced red and yellow pepper until kinda soft. Cook brown rice separately then combine everything and salt and pepper to taste
  • Roasted Carrots
    • I tossed the carrots in a little olive oil, garlic salt and pepper before roasting in the oven
  • Sauteed Spinach
    • I wouldn’t make this again. I sauteed it with garlic, salt and pepper so it tasted great but the freezing and reheating process is too much for the delicate spinach.  It ended up getting soggy and mushy which is never appealing

dirty rice

Dinner

  • Lentil Loaf with Mushroom/Onion Gravy
    • I added bread crumbs to the lentil loaf to make it have a meatloaf like texture and I subtracted the curry and cumin and added some leftover mushrooms that I had. Add in any spices that you like to play with the taste, this is a super versatile recipe that can please any carnivore or vegan!
    • For the gravy I just added in a whole, thinly sliced yellow onion since I like to put onion in just about everything and subtracted the marmite (because who just has that laying around?!). The gravy is not super healthy (but it is really tasty) so don’t go too crazy with it!
  • Mashed Yams
  • Steamed Broccoli
    • I steamed the broccoli then gave it a light toss with olive oil, minced garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper

lentil loaf

And some of the final products ready to go into the freezer…..

final product

Overall, a good first week! I learned a lot of lessons and had delicious food all week for two vegans for ~$75!

misc.

Leave a Reply

