Week 2 – Progress!

I was determined to make week 2 go much smoother than week 1.  I spent more time planning and figuring out what to cook in what order which helped significantly.  This week went WAY faster and easier and with much less mess! Yippey!

Not only was the process more streamlined but I made a week’s worth of breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks for 2 vegans for $60 this week!!! Thank you Meijer 10 for $10 sale!

Breakfast

  •  Oatmeal Chia Breakfast Cookies – Ok, these tasted great but I kinda felt guilty eating a big cookie for breakfast.  They really aren’t too terrible for you though and the oats and the chia seeds keep you full for a few hours

breakfast bars

Lunch

  • Beans and Rice with Salad 
    • I was skeptical about the whole salad in a mason jar thing that you see all over Pinterest but it really works! I made all my salads on Sunday and by Friday they were still crunchy and fresh.  Just make sure to keep the dressing separate.  I cooked up one cubed package of extra firm tofu in a skillet with a little olive oil and lots of blackening spice and cajun spice to give my salad a little extra protein.  I put this in a separate container than the salad because I didn’t want it to get soggy
    • For the beans I  cooked 3 cans of rinsed, low sodium black beans with diced onion, minced garlic, cumin, oregano, garlic salt and pepper

beans

Dinner

  • Stir Fry with Wilted Greens
    • Stir Fry is one of my favorite meals to make because it is so easy, delicious and healthy.  It often ends up being just whatever veggies I have left in my house that week and always tastes great!  For this one I added a little canola oil to my wok and threw in crispy tofu, broccoli, minced garlic, white onion, snap peas, yellow pepper, carrots, water chestnuts, red pepper and mushrooms.  Add a little garlic teriyaki sauce (the Kikkoman brand is my favorite but it is loaded with sodium so use sparingly) and you are good to go!  This is a great easy meal because you can add or subtract whatever you want and it will still taste good.

stir fry

  • Wilted Greens – I am going to share what is possibly my favorite recipe with you.  I never thought I would love Kale and Swiss Chard so much but when it is cooked down in this smoky, salty broth it is unbelievably delicious and I usually eat all of mine and then eat all of my husband’s as well!  I played around with the quantities quite a bit to get the broth just how I liked it but mix it up to your own taste!
    • 1 bunch kale or Swiss chard (or whatever dark, leafy greens you prefer, except spinach) – Destem and Rough Chop
    • 1 yellow onion – Diced
    • 1 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil
    • 1 Cup Vegetable broth
    • 1 tsp Liquid smoke
    • 1 TBS Soy sauce (or liquid aminos)
    • 1 TBS Apple Cider Vinegar
    • Salt, pepper to taste
  • Cook onions in oil in the largest frying pan that you have (or a large wok if you have one)
  • Once the onions are soft add the greens, salt and pepper and mix as best as you can
  • In a separate bowl mix the broth, liquid smoke, soy sauce and apple cider vinegar and pour over the greens
  • Mix often, the greens will start to wilt and have major shrinkage in just a few minutes

kale

  • Turn off heat once all greens are soft, you don’t want to overcook and end up with mushy greens.  Kale and Swiss Chard will hold their own pretty well
  • Salt and pepper to taste and enjoy the amazingness!

wilted

Snacks – This week was pears!

fruit

Leave a Reply

