Week 3 – Trail Mix AKA Chocolate Chips with Obstacles

This was a particularly tasty week of food! Sometimes meal prep focuses more on speed and convenience but this week I had some extra time so I made some more involved, delicious meals! Also, since I decided to do a giant batch of trail mix for the weekly snack it ended up costing me ~$100 this week for everything.  Good homemade trail mix can be expensive but it is soooo worth it!

Breakfast

  • Original Green Monster Smoothie from Oh She Glows
    • I cannot tell you how much I love this smoothie! It is delicious and packed with nutrients and SO quick and easy to make on the go in the morning and it left me feeling full for hours.  I found the banana flavor to be way too strong with a whole banana though so I switched to only using about 1/4 of a frozen banana.

smoothie

Lunch

  • Wasa Crackers and Hummus
  • Kale and Couscous Tabbouleh
    • There are a million different variations of tabbouleh and most of them are delicious so use whatever you would like in place of the kale or couscous if you don’t like either of those. I am not a fan of really strong parsley flavors so I used kale for the bulk of the greens and just added some fresh parsley for taste.  The grain is traditionally bulgur but I happened to have couscous so it was an easy substitution!
    • For the salad:
      • 1 bunch kale. Destemmed and chopped
      • I cucumber, diced small
      • 1 small red onion, diced small
      • 1 carton of yellow cherry tomatoes
      • 2 cups of couscous, cooked and cooled
      • A handful of fresh parsley, diced small
      • Dressing – Olive Oil, Lemon Juice, Salt, Pepper Mix to taste

tabbouleh in jarskale jar

Dinner

  • 3 Bean Salad
    • This may actually be a perfect salad.  It is so bright and tasty and crisp that it will be very easy to eat it every day for a week!

3 bean salad

  • Lentil Stir Fry with Spicy Sesame Broth
    • I have been tinkering with this recipe for over a year.  I had this amazing lentil stir fry in a restaurant and immediately started working to come up with my own version.  The charred veggies, soft lentils and smoky, spicy broth make for a perfect combination of comfort food.
    • For the Stir Fry
      • 2 cups of green lentils cooked according to the package instructions
      • I head broccoli, cut into small florets
      • 1 large shredded carrot
      • 1 small white onion sliced
    • Cook veggies in cast iron skillet or grill pan with a little oil until slightly softened and starting to get a little char on the outside.  Combine veggies with lentils in large bowl

lentil It isn’t the most beautiful dish pre-broth!

  • For the Broth
    • 5 cups vegetable stock
    • 3 TBS sesame oil
    • 1/2 tsp liquid smoke
    • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
    • 1 TBS chili garlic sauce (more to taste depending on how spicy you want it)
  • Combine all broth ingredients in large saucepan or pot and bring to a boil and then let simmer on low heat stirring often. Pour over veggie/lentil mixture to desired soupyness! I like mine with a lot of broth almost like a soup but my husband likes just a little broth more like a stew.  Try both and see what you prefer!

broth

The final product…..lentil stew

Snack

  • As I mentioned before, I made a giant batch of trail mix for snacks this week which pretty much blew my food budget but was totally worth it!  I had to go to a potluck event (which is not a good place for vegans as we all know!) and I could only have some corn and a small salad so thank goodness I had a bag of this trail mix in my purse or I would have starved! I put a little bit of everything in this; almonds, cashews, peanuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, mixed dried berries, hemp/spirulina cereal and of course vegan chocolate chips (the most important ingredient!). This is a great snack for a high energy week because it has a lot of protein and fat to keep you going!

trail mix trail mix bags

Jane Always Eats Her Veggies!

jane eating lettuce

Leave a Reply

