Week 19 – La Petite Chickpea!

I recently discovered a new blog that has some truly fantastic vegan recipes.  If you haven’t checked out The Minimalist Baker, I suggest you do! The recipes are easy, healthy, use simple ingredients and most importantly are DELICIOUS! I had a rough week last week and really needed some good food so I tried out her Creamy Vegan Garlic Pasta with Roasted Tomatoes and was seriously blown away! I cannot wait to make this for non-vegans because it is so creamy and flavorful that they will never be able to tell that it isn’t loaded with butter and cream and cheese! I didn’t get great pictures because honestly, we ate it too fast to take time getting good pictures! If you need an easy, comfort food that will please everyone, Make This Recipe!!! The only change I made was to add a thinly sliced onion and basil for some extra flavor.

2.1

2

While eating a delicious falafel pita today I was telling my husband how chickpeas were my favorite food because they are so versatile and always tasty and he said that I should open up a restaurant that only serves dishes with chickpeas and call it La Petite Chickpea (The Little Chickpea)! In honor of La Petite Chickpea, lunch and dinner this week feature roasted chickpeas and lunch has a hummus based sauce as well. Yummm! Chickpeas for everyone!!!

Breakfast

2.16

  • Chia Fresca Water – Add whatever fruit you like to this. I used lemon, strawberry, frozen blueberries, 2 tsp of chia seeds and a splash of cranberry juice and filled the rest up with water. *Note* This glass is for pictures only! Make sure you drink this in something with a lid because you will want to shake it up frequently or the chia seeds will settle to the bottom.

2.9 2.4

Lunch 

2.142.8 2.7

Dinner 

  • Sweet Potato Chickpea Buddha Bowl
    • The pictures are kinda hard to see but there is a layer of roasted kale, broccoli, sweet potato and onion that will be topped with roasted chickpeas and a tahini dressing

2.12 2.11

2.15

Snack 

  • Crunchy Peanut Butter Granola Bars
    • I am trying to keep these in the freezer to see if they will stick together better than my other attempts at granola bars.  We shall see.

2.13

On a sad side note, I lost my beloved furry soul mate Ishmael Thomas this week.  He was 16 and lived a very happy, healthy life and was a source of constant love and laughter in our lives. I am happy that he is at peace and so grateful for all the wonderful years we had together.

“Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” – Anatole France

2.2

One thought on “Week 19 – La Petite Chickpea!

Leave a Reply

