Week 26 – Pack in the Nutrients!

This week I tried to focus on very nutrient dense meals. When we get busy and active and can’t always spend time on perfect meals it helps to pack in as much goodness as possible into what we are eating.

Breakfast

  • Make Ahead Frozen Smoothies
    • So I am trying a new method to cut down on time in the mornings.  Since I leave my house around 5am anything to make the morning easier is a big plus! I made all the smoothies ahead of time and froze them in mason jars leaving some room in the jar for the smoothie to expand as it freezes.  The night before, pull out your smoothie for the morning and put it in the fridge to thaw.
    • I loaded each smoothie with…
      • 1 cup almond milk
      • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
      • 1 tbs chia seeds
      • 1 handful spinach
      • 1/4 banana
      • Blueberries
      • 2 TBS unsweetened soy yogurt
      • Frozen strawberry or mango

10

Lunch

  • Super Grain Bowl with Garlic Herb Tahini Sauce
    • Don’t be intimidated by the amount of ingredients that I put in here! You can add or subtract whatever you want! I used the base of this Lentil Salad recipe and just added a bunch of goodness.
      • For the grains, I used 1 cup of amaranth, 1 cup of farro and 1 cup of green lentils cooked in vegetable stock and water.
      • I used 3 different types of tomatoes for an awesome depth of flavor. Sweet brown grape komato tomatoes sliced in half, sun dried tomatoes in oil and dried sun dried tomatoes re hydrated in boiling balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar.
      • Fresh ingredients included yellow, orange and green pepper diced, chopped fresh parsley and cilantro and 1 whole bunch of kale.
      • Sauteed ingredients included garlic, onion, zucchini and walnuts
      • Salt, Pepper and Lemon Juice
  • Add a little Garlic Herb Tahini Sauce and you have a delicious, nutritious lunch that is packed with flavor and vitamins! The combination of the fresh and cooked ingredients with the chewy grains makes the texture really different.
    • For the sauce I substituted Agave for Honey and added a little rice vinegar

10.1

Dinner

  • Pasta with Chickpea “Meat”Balls
    • The chickpea strikes again!!!!! I swear, there is nothing that you can’t do with chickpeas!!! They are amazing!  These little meatballs are so tasty and the panko gives them a great filling texture.  The only change I made was to cut out the vegan parm and add some nutritional yeast.

10.610.810.7

Desert!

  • I don’t usually make desert since I have serious impulse control issues but my friend was complaining that there are no good kiwi recipes so I made him this Kiwi Cake that turned out really tasty! It was easily veganized and tasted very tropical with the kiwi and lime.  It really should be enjoyed in the sun with a glass of rum punch!  I upped the kiwi content to 5 since they were on sale and extra kiwi never hurt!

10.5

 

Have a great week everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

