Week 29 -Energy Food!

My goal this week was to prep tasty, energy filled food! When life gets busy it is so important to rely on healthy foods to fill us with the energy that we need to tackle everything. One of the biggest changes that I noticed when I went vegan was that I had SOOOOOOOOO much more energy. Eating healthy, plant based, whole foods provides your body what it needs to function at the highest level so give your body what it needs!!!

Breakfast

  • Peanut Butter Energy Wraps – There can be a million different variations on what goes in here but this is what I used…
    • Whole Wheat Tortillas
    • Crunchy Natural Peanut Butter (make sure the ONLY ingredient listed is Peanuts)
    • Sliced Banana
    • Blueberries
    • Strawberries
  • Eat one of these energy wraps with a hot mug of green tea for a great start to your day!

13.4

13.11

Lunch

  • Chickpea Salad Sandwiches with Salad – The chickpeas along with the whole wheat bread are full of protein to help you get the energy to get over that midday slump!
    • I added dill relish and some plain soy yogurt to make this a little creamier.

13.813.7

Afternoon Snack

  • I always seem to get hungry when I get home from work so I try to keep decent snacks on hand so I don’t just eat whatever garbage I can find, this week it is these beautiful huge oranges and pretzels or roasted almonds. YUM!

13.513.6

Dinner

  • Tomato Soup with Twice Baked Potatoes
    • To veganize the soup just omit the cheese and substitute plant milk for the cream (I used almond milk), use vegetable broth and vegan butter.
    • Twice Baked Potatoes are super easy but very crowd pleasing!
      • Bake your potatoes in the oven with salt, pepper and olive oil on a foil lined cookie sheet
      • Turn every 20 minutes or so
      • Once completely cooked (~1 hour at 425) take them out and let them cool a bit
      • Slice them lengthwise and scoop out the inside with a spoon
      • Mix all the inside bits with vegan butter, salt, pepper, green onion, vegan sour cream, bacon bits (YES they are vegan!) and almond milk until smooth
      • Spoon the mixture back into the potato skins and bake for another 10-15 minutes
      • *TIP* When reheating the potatoes I like to microwave them for a minute to warm them all the way through and then put them in the oven with the broiler on high for a few minutes to get the skins good and crispy! This way they taste fresh every night!

13.1013.213.313.1

 

Have a great week and remember that what you put into your body fuels everything you do so feed it well!

13

2 thoughts on “Week 29 -Energy Food!

  1. I love the sound of all of your prepped recipes, particularly the twice baked potatoes (I love potatoes). Definitely makes it easier to maintain a healthy diet when there’s already prepped food in the refrigerator! I usually have oatmeal or some granola with banana for breakfast but I should mix things up a bit. These wraps sound good, particularly as I do love peanut butter (crazy amounts with banana… so good!). Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

